This is Not a Sales Pitch!

Thousands of people write about wine every day. Hundreds of them are published. A few dozen have publications in some pretty respected magazines. I’m not those guys. I love wine, but I don’t love wine that much!

There comes a time in the life of every wine guru that it becomes more about the wine than the experience. I don’t ever want to get to that point. When I purchase wine for either restaurant, I’m looking for wine that I can relate to. I look for wine that you can relate to. I want to present you with the wine that made your 25th anniversary the best one ever! I want to introduce you to the wine that made you fall in love again! How do I do that? I keep it simple!

Wine guys get too involved. I’ve never sold a bottle of wine or bought a bottle of wine based on the amount of time it has spent on its lees. Malolactic fermentation has never made any of my guests smile. Pump-over as opposed to push-down has never been the deal breaker for an important business lunch. These are all terms that help me find good wine, but you don’t need to know that. In fact, I don’t even need to know that. HOW DOES IT TASTE? SOLD!

While spending numerous hours amongst some of the most wine savvy people in the world, I started to dislike California wines. They’re so passionate about Old World wines that they seem to over look the facts. People love wine! California, Oregon, Argentina, Washington, France, Italy, wines from all over, people love them.  Red, white, pink, sparkling… still, people love wine! Give them what they love!

I don’t want to bore anyone talking about the Grand Cru’s of Burgundy, or the vast differences 60 meters makes in the vineyards of Barolo. My approach is not to bore anyone, or for that matter, overwhelm anyone with technical details.

Here’s how I work:

“If you like medium bodied Russian River Valley Pinot Noir, you may enjoy an entry level Cote Rotie, or Hermitage. The Syrah is pretty big, and pretty bold, but they blend in a touch of Viognier that lightens the wine slightly, and gives it an amazing floral essence.”

What just happened there? Johnny was out on a first date. He was going to get a Pinot Noir because he recognized the name, and every one likes Pinot Noir. While his date was in the bathroom, I suggested a cool sounding French wine that I know they’ll love. She comes back, and he looks like a wine stud when the bottle hits the table.

I want it to be as simple and as fun as possible. Writing helps me accomplish that. I’m going to be taking notes, and using crazy metaphors anyway, I might as well share them. If you’re interested in wine, and want to read about it with out being bored, come along with me! I want to make it easy, and fun, and interactive. If you have questions, send them! There will be many nights that I’m yearning for a new topic. If you have a question, someone surely has the same question, they’re just afraid to  ask.

 

View my restaurants’ wine lists:

Nosh: http://nosh121.com/grapesgrains/default.asp
The Blue Star: http://www.thebluestar.net/WineSpirits.asp

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Barry on March 4, 2011 - 3:18 PM

    You were born to blog Joe….if your previous emails are any indication.
    Barry

  2. #2 by margie on March 5, 2011 - 8:57 AM

    Can I subscribe to your wine blog?

    • #3 by nosh121 on March 5, 2011 - 10:56 AM

      Absolutely! You have to promise to give feedback, and convince 20,000 of your closest friends to subscribe as well 🙂
      Just choose “Entries RSS Feed” from the Meta box above and to the right.

Leave a Reply

